Reactive and Generative Prosperity

My work on prosperity continues. I was raised to count every dollar and every penny, cut coupons, find deals, and save money at all costs.

My first step away from scarcity was into reactive prosperity. I had enough because I knew how much I had and how much I needed and wanted. I could be generous because I had enough calculated out to be able to give a portion of it.

I'm now exploring what I would call generative prosperity. I have enough because of my faith in my ability to provide, and I give because it is who I am. My generosity is more closely tied to my self-worth than my net-worth, and my giving is more about who I am than what I do. This is still very much a work in progress.

Have you ever lived in scarcity? Where is your prosperity reactive when it could be generative?